Hey all..am quite new to Java and I have encountered a problem with my program. I am getting the error message "cannot find symbol constructor". I have tried to figure it out but I have failed. I have read around that adding an empty constructor would help but this is not working either so I am just confused. any help is needed.thanks. Below is the entire code.

class Student {

private String name, add,dit;

public String getname() 
	{
		return name; 
	}

public String getadd() 
	{
		return add; 
	}

public String getdit() 
	{
		return dit; 
	}

public void setname(String n) 
	{
		this.name=n; 
	}

public void setadd(String a) 
	{
		this.add=a; 
	}

public void setdit(String d) 
	{
		this.dit=d; 
	}

public String getdetails()
	{
		return "i am a student "+"my name is "+this.name +"i am from "+this.add+"my dit no is "+this.dit;
  	}

}

class ex4{

public static void main(String[] args)
	{

Student s1 = new Student("kamal", "kandy", "5678");

System.out.println(s1.getdetails());

}
}

ERROR

ex4.java:49: cannot find symbol
symbol  : constructor Student(java.lang.String,java.lang.String,java.lang.String
)
                     ^
1 error

thanks in advance...

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You need to declare the parameterized constructor.

You need to declare the parameterized constructor.

im sorry...can u explain this with more details....
thanks...

You are calling a constructor that does not exist. It is like calling a method with the wrong number or arguments. You haven't declared that kind of constructor:

Student s1 = new Student("kamal", "kandy", "5678")

Also if you paid attention to the errors that you get, you should be able to figure that on your own.

Also it would be better to rename the method getdetails to toString.

It is inherited from the Object class and is called automatically when you do this:

System.out.println(s1);

Try printing this:
System.out.println(s1) without defining it and then create that method (toString) and try again.