I am trying to read multiple files which contain values under various Column headers (like pressure, temperature etc)...I using "infile" to read values and assign it to a structure. However whenver there is a bad character in the file or less number than the number of parameters, the output gives error..(like it gives the output as only 0 once the bad character is encountered...)...Can someone help me regarding avoiding these bad characters....I have tried infile.getline also, but i do not know how to read individual characters in each line....

Kindly have patience, i am a beginner.Thank you in advance....

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Could u plz show us the format of the file? also when u are reading the file u declare the variable as char or some thing else?

The format is like this......I manage to skip the first line and then assign a structure for eg, a[i].time, a[i].z, a[i].p etc.

time    z   p   t   rh  dpt dir spd
1   17  998.4   27.7    77  23.4    0   0
2   23  997.8   26.3    64  19  -999    -999
3   23  997.8   26.3    64  19  -999    -999
4   23  997.8   26.3    64  19  -999    -999

But say if the format is

5   997.8   26.3    64  -999    -999

ie. 2 of the parameters are missing..
Then the whole output gives 0 from then on...the structure is like below

struct par
{
    int     time;
    double z,p,t,rh,dpt,dir,spd;

};

Thank you very much...

What I would do is use a low-tech method: read the line into a string using getline() and step through it to count the spaces. If you don't have all the numbers you need, record the line number of the bad data, throw out the string and read another line.

Otherwise knowing whether something is of the proper nature for that element of the struct would be kind of tricky.

Thank you very much...i will try it out.......

If the missing values are always the last in the line, then as jonsca suggests read teach line using fgets() then use sscanf() to read the line into the variables.