I'm new to Java and can't seem to understand why this code doesn't work. Any input would be appreciated. Thx.

Public class MyClass
    int a;
    float b = 1.5;

public void static main(String args) {
        MyClass mc = MyClass();
        mc.a = 1.5;
        system.out.println(b);
    }

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Java is not a markup language where upper and lower case doesn't matter. Same goes for brackets and opening and closing. Lastly, there is a specific way to write the main method.

So based on what I said, what your compiler tells you about the above code?

Going by the compiler feedback, I made some adjustments but still cannot figure out what's wrong with the code. I'm VERY new to Java and seem to be stuck not understanding fully wha tthe compiler is telling me, which is why I posted it here.

Here's what I have so far:

public class MyClass
{
    int a;
    double b = 1.5;

public static void main(String args) {
        MyClass mc = MyClass();
        int a = 1.5;
        System.out.println(b);
    }
}

Any input or help would be appreciated. Thx.

Well lets see what compiler says about this code

C:\Projects - Home\Daniweb\MyClass.java:7: cannot find symbol
symbol  : method MyClass()
        MyClass mc = MyClass();
                     ^
C:\Projects - Home\Daniweb\MyClass.java:8: possible loss of precision
found   : double
required: int
        int a = 1.5;
                ^
C:\Projects - Home\Daniweb\MyClass.java:9: non-static variable b cannot be referenced from a static context
        System.out.println(b);
                           ^

First error is telling you that it cannot find symbol method MyClass(). As you did not tell compiler that you want to cast new instance of your class its automatically assume that you want to call method of same name as is class, but that method does not exists. So what needs to be done?