Hey all,
I am very new to python, but I hear that it can be used to handle web forms. Does anybody know of where I can find a good tutorial on how to create something that will handle form input? Thanks in advance.
-Nick

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Thanks a lot! This should help out a lot.

One more quick question...
How should the HTML look? I can't really figure out how to get the form to call the python program.
Thanks again in advance!
-Nick

use a wysiwyg editor like mozilla-composer or nvu. (free downloads too!)

they have little buttons, forms, text imput, drop down lists, etc... stuff that you can choose from to create the form. it helps you out until you learn more of html.

hope this helps

Thanks for the reply. I am pretty good at html, and I know how to make a form. What I'm struggling with is how to make the form talk to the python program. I can't seem to get it to work.
-Nick

try this....

here is a simple form.....

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
  <meta content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1"
 http-equiv="content-type">
  <title>Admin Login</title>
</head>
<body>
<big><big>Login
Here<br>
<br>
</big></big>
<form action="/cgi-bin/Login.py" name="LoginForm"><big>Administration
Login<br>
 User Name<br>
  <input name="UserName"><br>
  <br>
  <br>
Password<br>
  <input name="PassWord"><br>
  </big><br>
   <br>
  <br>
<input type="submit">
  <br>
</form>
&nbsp;__&nbsp;<br>
</body>
</html>

and the script that it passes info to in the cgi-bin
called login.py

#!/usr/bin/python
import cgi
import cgitb; cgitb.enable()
# get the info from the html form
form = cgi.FieldStorage()
#set up the html stuff
reshtml = """Content-Type: text/html\n
<html>
 <head><title>Security Precaution</title></head>
 <body>
 """

print reshtml 

User = form['UserName'].value
Pass = form['PassWord'].value

if User == 'john' and Pass == 'jacob':
	print '<big><big>Welcome'
	print 'mr. Jingleheimerschmidt !</big></big><br>'