Hey everyone! I am a newbie to java and I have what is probably a simple question. I have add a program I am working on to randomly display random numbers from 104, 105, 106, and 108. I have gone about this by creating an array and storing the numbers i want to choose from in the array. Then I try to create a random number generator that references the array. But this is not working. So my questions are... Am i on the right track? Why will it not recognize the array? Should I be doing this differently?

Thank you all in advance! I realize this is probably a really simple question to a lot of your guys so thank you all for the help!

import java.util.Random;
public class NumberRandom1
{

public static void main( String[] args )
 {
  Random randomNumbers = new Random();// random number generator
  int Number;// stores numbers as an int
  int[] array = { 104, 105, 106, 108 };

// counter added for testing purposes
  for ( int counter = 1; counter <= 1; counter++ )
  {

// Pick random number number from
   // 104, 105, 106, 108
   Number = randomNumbers.nextInt(  array );// this is my problem 

System.out.printf( "%d ", Number );//display value  

}

}

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Sorry, I just figured out how to properly post code...

import java.util.Random;
public class NumberRandom1
{

public static void main( String[] args )
{
Random randomNumbers = new Random();// random number generator
int Number;// stores numbers as an int
int[] array = { 104, 105, 106, 108 };

// counter added for testing purposes
for ( int counter = 1; counter <= 1; counter++ )
{

// Pick random number number from
// 104, 105, 106, 108
Number = randomNumbers.nextInt( array );// this is my problem 

System.out.printf( "%d ", Number );//display value 

}

}

looks great, but next time:
try and post your error-messages. since the Random class does not have a
nextInt method that takes an array of integers as parameter, I guess you must've had some.