I wonder if anyone has used MonoDevelop and what your thoughts are. I am not a developer but I have tinkered with Visual Studio .NET and I must say it is powerful but it has its flaws. I just heard that MonoDevelop is an alternative IDE designed for C# and other .NET languages and I'm wondering if it is good enough for someone who wants to get their feet wet with some serious development. The nice thing about it is that it is free to download and it now fully supports Windows.

Anybody?

ddanbe commented: Informative. +6

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

He! Thanks for the link! This really is something to have a look at. In fact I have a Mac on which I run Boot Camp so I could install Vista, to be able to use Visual Studio. Thanks.

@ddanbe you are welcome :) and your thoughts on it will be appreciated i'm sure.

Well, I installed it on the Mac side of my notebook and it looks great, but I only seem to have the possibility to do console applications. If I want to do a forms application I have to do more installation and pay for it. But I'm not dissapointed, it is already a great improvement on what was available on a Mac if you wanted to program in C#.

Interesting. Thanks.

I've used Monodevelop on *nix briefly...And not for anything particularly serious either. More out of morbid curiosity than anything else I suppose.

Primarily I'm a C++ programmer by trade, but as a one-off I did some pretty heavy .NET development in C# a few years ago for one of my previous employers (using VS2005).

Now, I've not done any serious C# development since then, but I'd recently heard about Monodevelop as an alternative IDE for C#. And I've been quite impressed by some of the *nix apps that have been created for the Mono runtime (Tomboy Notes, F-Spot etc.). So I figured "What the hell, let's try it out!".

So I installed it on one of my Ubuntu machines.