Hi guys. There seems to be a lot of people on this forum who know what they are talking about. My question is simple. I'm fairly new to c++ and i have hit a brick wall. I'm trying to write a simple program that grabs 2 txt files and outputs to a third. eg

Text1.txt
-----------
Hello everybody!

Text2.txt
----------
Great meeting you all

i want the output text to be this.

Output.txt
----------
Hello everybody!
great meeting you all

Simple thats all i need it to do, nothing else, no sorting nothing!! HELP!!!!

Recommended Answers

There are a couple ways to do it.

open file 1 for input

open result file for output

read each line in file 1 and write it to the result file. getline() will help you with that.

After done, close file 1 -- leave result file …

Jump to Post

>>If anyone has the actual code would they be able to paste it in?

Nope -- not happening here at DaniWeb. We don't do people's homework assignments for them.

Jump to Post

Well then do it in another language such as awk. Hell, if you are on MS-Windows you can even do it in a command prompt c:> copy file1+file2+file3 file4

Jump to Post

All 12 Replies

There are a couple ways to do it.

open file 1 for input

open result file for output

read each line in file 1 and write it to the result file. getline() will help you with that.

After done, close file 1 -- leave result file open

Now do the same thing with file 2.

thanks for replying. I know theres prob a few ways to do it. If anyone has the actual code would they be able to paste it in? Only if you already have it and it only takes a few secs to do it. Still scratching my head. back to the books for me i think! Damn..

>>If anyone has the actual code would they be able to paste it in?

Nope -- not happening here at DaniWeb. We don't do people's homework assignments for them.