Hi,

I recently started using Linux and have come to find that it suits me better than Windows.
I am a newbie in C/C++ programming and my questions are

1. How suitable is Linux for learning C/C++ programming as most of the books i have come across are based on windows. What are the pros and cons.
  2. I would like to be pointed to where i could/should get advanced C/C++ books

Should i just stick to Windows??
Thought i would find unbiased information from this forum
Thank You in advance.

Contributors
Replies
Views
6 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by lionaneesh

You should be able to learn C and C++ from *nix without any problems -- the language itself is platform independent. You run into cross-platform problems when you start writing programs that call platform-specific functions, such as GUI and hardware. But for learning the language *nix is a good as any other. I suppose it can be a little frustrating when you are just starting to learn what is and is not platform dependent functions.

As for books -- there is an entire thread at the beginning of this c++ forum devoted to that subject.

Edited by Ancient Dragon: n/a

Hi,

I recently started using Linux and have come to find that it suits me better than Windows.
I am a newbie in C/C++ programming and my questions are

1. How suitable is Linux for learning C/C++ programming as most of the books i have come across are based on windows. What are the pros and cons.
  2. I would like to be pointed to where i could/should get advanced C/C++ books

Should i just stick to Windows??
Thought i would find unbiased information from this forum
Thank You in advance.

That's Very good start Madawar , I personally learnt C on Linux only and am still learning...There should be no problem in that..

Secondly . On a linux platform you will learn more as you have do all work on your own and It doesn't hold your hand like windows....So...Keep learning....great start ...Keep it up