I am new to C++. i want to write a program that finds factors of a no. and puts them in array and prints it. i have written a program but it is wrong. PLease correct it.Thank you.

#include<iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
int b,c,i;
int myarray= [10];
cout<<"Please enter  nos"<<endl;
cin>>b;
for(c=2;c<b;c++)
{
if (b%c==0)
{
for(i=0;i<10,i++)
{
myarray[i]=c;
}
}
}
cout<<"The factors of the no. are"<<myarray[i]<<endl;
return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

A few things you should try to do is make it so that the array is sorted and also try to use a dynamic array for if there are more factors than your static array can hold.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int num, index = 0;
    int numArray[25];
    cout << "enter a number: ";
    cin >> num;
    if( num < 1 )
    {
        cout << "Number must be greater than or equal to 1" << endl;
        system("PAUSE");
        return 0;
    }
    for( int i = 1; i < num; i++ )
    {
        if( num % i == 0 )
        {
            numArray[index] = i;
            index++;
            if( i != num )
            {
                numArray[index] = num/i;
                index++;
            }
        }
        if( i*i > num )
            break;
    }
    for( int i = 0; i < index; i++ )
        cout << numArray[i] << endl;
    system("PAUSE");
    return 0;
}

Ok I will make some very general comments about the structure of code:

First off: Always program to the smallest unit of work that you can do. i.e. don't try to factor your number / add to an array and print in one go. Start with getting one part of that correct. That could be the factorization, it could just as well be putting some numbers in an array, it can equally be printing an array.

Let me illustrate :

// TEST Print:
int main()
{
   int NArray[]={1,2,4,5,6};
   // Print part here:
}

or to test the placing numbers in an array

int main()
{
  int* A=new int[10];
  for(int i=0;i<10;i++)
    {