I have a list of books that I need to access from 3 or 4 different functions of my program. It's 250 books with unique names. Would it be wise to use simple array to store the list?

Or is there any easy way for a newbie to manually create the list and then access it? I'm new to this, making a transition from JavaScript where I would use JSON.

So basically is this right way to do it:

string books[250] = {"MyBook One", "My second book", "Third book", "Book nr 250"};

and the call it like this:

void displayRandomBook(booknr)
{
  ... some code ....
  sdlTTFdisplay(books[booknr]);
}

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

The right way depends on the situation. But I would suggest to do something like this:

#include <vector>

struct Book{
 string _name;
 string _author;
 float  _price;
 //...more info
 Book(const string& name,const string& author, float price)
   : _name(name), _author(author), _price(price){}
};

int main(){
 std::vector<Book> listOfBooks;
 listOfBooks.push_back( Book("America","Obama Hussian", 59.95);
 //add more books
 func1(listOfBooks); //do stuff
 func2(listOfBooks); //do more stuff
 //and so on...
}

Hi,

To store the books thats a valid approach but manually coding all the book names is a bad idea i think. i suggest scanning a directory and geting the file names if they are in one directory see link -> LINK for a few possible ways to do this.

then to add the files to the list i would reccomend using a stl (standard template libary) class vector. vector is like an array but it has various advantages. so i think you would want something like the following in pseudo c

#include<string> //libary for strings
#include<vector> //libary for vectors

using namespace std;
vector<string> myList; //variables called my list that is an array of strings

myList.resize(250); //size the vector to have 250 elements (used as you know you have 250 titles

//use a function or loop to get the file names maybe like 
//bool getTitles(char *directory)