Hi, there,

I am also very new to Java.
For class, I have to create an structure that reflects that of a document stored in a plain txt file.
The hyerarchy of the classes is:
Class document is made of
//complex objects
class Page objects, that are made of
class PArragraph, that are made of
class Phrase objects, that are made of
class Word objects, and/or class Number objects, both made of
// elemental tyoe objects
class basicElement objects, characters read from the file.

EOdocument To tell a documents end I need a eof character (EOF)
EOpage To tell a page end, I need two consecutive carriage return OR the above
EOparragraph To tell a parragraphs end, I need one carriage return OR any of the above,
EOphrase To tell a phrase end, I need a dot OR any of the above
EOword To tell a word's end, I need a space, a comma, semicolon, colon OR any of the above
if a word is a number or a word is reflected in a field of the word class.

I have thought of reading charachter by charachter the file and begin building the structure. My approach was that I first create a Document object, whose class constructor creates an arraylist of Pages until a EOF is encountered.
The Pages constructor creates an arraylist of Parragraphs until a EOpage is encountered. The Parragraphs constructor creates an arraylist of phrases until a EOparragraph is encountered.
The Phrases constructor creates an arraylist of words & numbers until a EOphrase is encountered.
The word constructor creates an arraylist of basicElements until a EOword is encountered.

I have, though, several questions that are setting me stuck.