Hi, im just a beginner in C++ and was wondering what exactly are pointers used for? Are they just to refer back to something or are they used differently than that? I was reading through the chapter on pointers in my programming book and it doesn't really clarify.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Pointers are used for exactly what you say: referring to something (data) by its location rather than by the name you choose to call it. It's a subtle difference but an important one.

There are lots of ways to use this one simple principle to accomplish lots of powerful things in C/C++. So while it may not seem like a lot, it's pretty neat. If you want specific examples of cool things pointers allow you to do, say so and I'm sure many will oblige.

Alright, yes does anyone have any helpful examples or instances where pointers are used?

pointer are used commonly for 2 reasons and of course it has more:
1-pointers are used as a 'reference':
which that mean that if we had a function and this function changes the value of a variable and we passed this variable without using pointer this will be dealing with a photo(copy) of this variable but if we used pointer we can deal with the variable in memory it self look for this example :

#include<iostream.h>
void change(int a)
{
	a+=1;
}
void changeptr(int * a)
{
	*a+=1;
}
void main()
{
int a=0;
int * ptr=&a;
change(a);
cout<<"a="<<a<<endl;//see how the value didn't change
changeptr(ptr);
cout<<"a="<<a<<endl;//see how the value  changed becuase ew are dealing with a refrence >
}

output:
a=0
a=1

2-for dynamic allocation in the memory:
that we can allocate a variable size for array using pointers with(new & delete):

and of course we use pointer to deal with C-style strings.

For C++, I would disagree with case 1 above, in this case you want to use a reference as in:

#include <iostream> //notice no .h here
void change(int a) {
	a+=1;
}
void changeref(int& a) { //notice & instead of *
	a+=1; //notice no leading *
}