Hi.. I am new to Dani web and would like to know the problem in the following code:

#include<iostream.h>
#include<conio.h>
void insertion_sort(int *p);
int main()
{
int a[20],j;
cout<<"\nEnter contents of array:";
for(int k=0;k<20;k++)
{
 cin>>a[k];
}
insertion_sort(a);
return 0;
}
void insertion_sort(int *p)
{
 int h,key;
 for(int i=2;i<20;i++)   //Insert into the sorted array p[1:i-1]
 {
  key= p[i];
  h=i-1;
  while(h>0&&p[h]>p[i])
  {
  p[h+1]=p[h];
  h--;
  p[h+1]=key;
  }
 }
 cout<<"\nSorted array:";
 for(int m=0;m<20;m++)
 {
  cout<<p[m];
  cout<<endl;
 }
}

This runs fine.. but produces no output..

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Maybe it does, and maybe it doesn't. The first thing to do is to pause the program after the call to insertion sort and before the return line in main(). Calling cin.get()or cin >> x once or twice usually does the trick. If you can pause the program and there is still no output, then you need to debug the program by using your debugger or by throwing in a bunch of input statements to pause the program after each individual step and output the appropriate variable values to the screen to be sure you reach each step of the program and the output with each step of the program is appropriate.

N.B. These days most compilers prefer you to use iostream and namespace std instead of iostream.h.

You should pause your program so you can see the output before the console window closes. You can do this quite a few ways, but the simplest way I can think of is using the system command. I am not sure if this works cross-platform but it works for Windows.

int main()
{
  int a[20],j;
  cout<<"\nEnter contents of array:";
  for(int k=0;k<20;k++)
  {
    cin>>a[k];
  }
  insertion_sort(a);
  system("pause");
  return 0;
}

Happy coding!