I have a SQL query where I need to pull email addresses if there is one associated with that row in my table. Depending on how many email addresses are returned could be 1 all the way up to 5 I need to send an email to each of those and then I need to update a field stating that the email was sent so one does not go out again. I know the code to send emails in C# but I do not know how to capture how many emails need to be sent, loop through them to send them and them update the field stating they have been sent. Help please.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I have some code but it is not working, when it calls my email method it states it cannot be null. I am not good with arrays or loops so if someone can look and let me know what they think please?

protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
        string request = Request.QueryString["request"];
        string requestLink = "<html>http://Default.aspx?request=" + request + "</html>";
        ArrayList emailAddressList = new ArrayList();

string sqlString = "Select Application.ownerEmail, dbo.RequestItems.applicationProfile, dbo.RequestItems.emailToSystemAdmin from Application join dbo.ApplicationProfile on dbo.ApplicationProfile.application = dbo.Application.aAuid join dbo.RequestItems on dbo.RequestItems.applicationProfile = dbo.ApplicationProfile.apAuid where request = " + request;
        string connString = ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings["UserAccessConnectionString"].ConnectionString;
        SqlConnection sqlConn = new SqlConnection(connString);
        SqlCommand sqlComm = new SqlCommand(sqlString, sqlConn);

sqlConn.Open();
        SqlDataReader reader = sqlComm.ExecuteReader();

while (reader.Read())
        {
            emailAddressList.Add(reader["ownerEmail"].ToString());
            string applicationProfile = reader["applicationProfile"].ToString();
            bool emailToSystemAdmin = reader.GetBoolean(reader.GetOrdinal("emailToSystemAdmin"));