Hey how's it goin' every body,
I am pretty new to opengl so please bear with me a little k. Here goes... I downloaded glut.dll,glut.lib and glut.h. Placed them in the following directories: glut32.dll to windows system32 directory, glut32.lib to dev-cpp lib directory, and glut.h to dev-cpp gl directory. Yet when I compile a simple opengl win32 "draw quad" program I get Link errors.
So I checked to see if I added the link to the project - project options/ parameter then added the line "-lglut32" but without the quotes. I even added the line #pragma comment(lib,"glut32.lib") to be safe. I'm using Windows Vista with DEV-CPP.
These are the three errors that pops up after compiling:

[Linker error] undefined reference to '__glutInitWithExit@12'
  [Linker error] undefined reference to '__glutCreateWindowWithExit@8' 
  [Linker error] undefined reference to '__glutCreateMenuWithExit@8' 

The line of code that uses it is in my "InitGL" function.

#pragma comment(lib,"opengl32.lib")
#pragma comment(lib,"glut32.lib")

#include <windowsx.h>
#include <windows.h>
#include <gl/gl.h>
#include <gl/glu.h>
#include <gl/glut.h>
#include <ctype.h>

//globals goes here
int  *g_pi;
char  g_char;

bool InitGL()
{//all opengl inits goes here
   glutInit(&g_pi,g_char);
   glEnable(GL_LIGHTING);
   glEnable(GL_LIGHT0);
   glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH);

return TRUE;
}

And the only place I use glut is in my rendering function "SceneRendering" namely "glSolidCube". I've looked every where for a solution and found a few installation manual but it didn't solve my linking situation. I was hoping that someone could confirm that I correctly installed glut and properly set it up into my project. Much oblique to you all for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies