Im brand new to programming, ive only been doing it for couple weeks. Im having trouble learning functions(or methods) and classes. I really need some problems i can work towards myself to learn this stuff, but there is nothing like that anywhere. Its all just the same tutorials and them spitting out code and not explaining it well enough to me.

Ive done like 4 problems on project euler, but that was just good for learning looping and some number usage, the rest is too hard really. Does anyone know of any site or lesson that gives you a problem to solve?

I need to learn visual studio, sql, asp.net, and building and maintaining databases, how can i best do this?

Im using the visual studio 2010 professional, and ive got 72 days left out of the 90 day trial.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I need to learn visual studio, sql, asp.net, and building and maintaining databases, how can i best do this?

If that is what you want to do then why not set your self a problem?
Create a DB to store some information of interest to you. (E.g. Document your collection of xyz.)
Try to create a Win form app and/or an ASP web app to access the DB.

Well i think I am with nick.crane you should create like a book store yourself put some table that then you can query by category, author, language, country etc. and start playing making updates etc. and then come up with more specific questions. some people like to see some real productivity soon, if that is your case i recommend you using LINQ. there is some tool that generate classes for you base on your database, and you can get some real code fast and good.

but it is always nice to see how everything works in details.

You make it sound so easy. Hey yeah just go and make a book store with queries and oh yeah go use LINQ.