Hi all, sorry if this post is a duplicate, I had a search and couldn't find what I was looking for.

In simplest terms I need to use the string split method using a sting as the seed i.e.

string[] sections = line.Split("><");

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I'm used to using PHP where I could use the explode function to achieve this but I'm a complete noob when it comes to c#

Thanks in advance for any help

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

String.Split contains an overloaded method that uses Strings as delimiters:

string[] sections = line.Split(new String[] {"><"}, StringSplitOptions.None);
string[] sections = line.Split(new char[] {"><"}, StringSplitOptions.RemoveEmptyEntries);
string[] sections = line.Split(new char[] {"><"}, StringSplitOptions.RemoveEmptyEntries);

The problem with this is that it would split the text "this> is < a sample" into three parts. I believe the original submitter only wanted text split when the symbols appear together (but I could be wrong).

If you dont want to split it the way Momerath showed and only want to extract the values inside the opening and closing tags then you can use a regex match:

class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            Regex reg = new Regex("<(?<tagContent>.*?)>");
            string SearchString = @"<span style=""color:Blue;"">Dim</span> input <span style=""color:Red;"">As</span> <span style=""color:Green;"">String</span> = <span style=""color:#A31515;"">""plum-pear""</span>";

Console.WriteLine("Expression:{0}", reg);
            Console.WriteLine("String to Search: {0}", SearchString);
            Console.WriteLine();

MatchCollection matches = reg.Matches(SearchString);
            foreach (Match m in matches)
            {
                Console.WriteLine("Match Found: {0}", m.Groups["tagContent"]);
            }

Console.ReadKey();

}
    }

Dear Split take only one character as a input but u put both

use
Split(">");
or
Split("<");