Hi guys, as the title suggest, Im new to c#. I have a text file with 5 lines of text in it. Im trying to read each line and throw it into an array of string type.
But Im having problems.

private void button4_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            songs = new string[5];

OpenFileDialog grabSong = new OpenFileDialog();

if (grabSong.ShowDialog() == DialogResult.OK)
            {
                playlist = grabSong.FileName; //playlist is just a private member of string type.

TextReader tr = new StreamReader(playlist);

for (int i = 0; i != 5; i++)
                {
                    songs[i] = tr.ReadLine();
                }

tr.Close();                

}            

}

Edit: I debugged it when I first tryed to check if the array was being filled properly, and it wasnt. Just debugged again and it is working fine now. Weird =p.

But Ill still post this if anyone can give some better suggestions on how to do this. For instance, in my for conditions, I cant say, (int i = 0; i != songs.count; i++) like I would be able to in c++.

Any tips? Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

For instance, in my for conditions, I cant say, (int i = 0; i != songs.count; i++) like I would be able to in c++.

For that one I would say this instead:

for (int i = 0; i < songs.Count; i++)

Since Count is based on numbers starting at 1 and the array is based on numbers starting from 0 this will effectively stop the FOR loop prior to going out of bounds.

EDIT: Just thought of this but it may be songs.Length instead of songs.Count... hmm... brain not working today, not sure.

Otherwise, your method appears sound.

Hope this helps :)

ah, using i != songs.Count would give error, but I never tried i < songs.count. That seems alittle more dynamic and useful to me. Thanks for the tidbit =)

Wonder how you could compile this:

songs = new string[5];

Is the variable songs defined elsewhere?
I should say this has to be:

string[] songs = new string[5];