Hai Friends
This is my first post to this forum. I am new to Python but I find its quite interesting. I have a problem with the folowing code...

##########################
import telnetlib
import sys

HOST = "192.168.10.5"

USER = "somename"
PASSWORD = "somepassword"

telnet = telnetlib.Telnet(HOST)

telnet.read_until("login: ")
telnet.write(USER + "\n")

telnet.read_until("Password: ")
telnet.write(PASSWORD + "\n")

telnet.write("top -p 1 -n 1\n")
telnet.write("exit\n")

some_value = telnet.read_all()
print some_value

#############################

The problem is that, when I print 'some_value' I get
" top: Unknown terminal "network" in $TERM ". But when I use other commands like 'ls -l' or 'df -h' it works fine & gives me the o/p of the commands. I tried by redirecting the o/p to a file like "top -p 1 -n 1 >> test\n" & then reading the contents of the file, but still it doent work. The file created thru Python was empty. When I directly work on Linux, the command works fine. Can anybody tell what the problem is...

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Hi xav.vijay,

I'm not sure, and I can't check right now because I'm at work and using my XP box, but:

Isn't the difference between top and df/ls that programs like df/ls write to STDOUT once and then terminate, while top keeps writing to the terminal window, dynamically updating the information you see? Maybe top relies upon a C library that needs specific information about the terminal it's writing to, and because we're working in Python that information has been lost? Check your TERM environment variable. Is its value really "network"?

I will try to help you more later on today.

Hai G-Do