Hi I am new to Java and need some help with a call to a private helper method.
The helper method has a arraylist and char in the argument.

Helper Method signature:
[ private List<aClass1> getDancers(List<aClass1> aList, char c) ]

Here is the call to the above helper method within another method that is not working:
[ List<aClass1> dancers = this.getDancers(dancersList, c); ]

Both methods are in the same class. Although both methods are in aClass2 but use aClass1.

Hope that makes sense!

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

"not working" in exactly what way? If there's an exception or error message please give the complete text. If the result is wrong, please let us know what you expected and what yuou got.
Is dancersList a non-null instance of List<aClass1>?

Hi,

Sorry by not working I mean when the error is "cannot find symbol - variable dancersList"

dancersList is a arraylist of male and female dancers, that's where the char element comes in "m" for male and "f" for female. Yes it is a instance of aClass1 and I think by non-null you mean the arraylist has values. It contains names of the dancers and their gender.

All I would like to do is use the helper method which contains a list of available dancers and in the new method pair them up. ie males with females.

Thanks for your reply!!

"cannot find symbol - variable dancersList"
means either it's misspelled, or it's declared somewhere else in the program and its scope doesn't extend as far as this statement (eg its declared in another class, or within another method in this class)

OK cool thanks! I think it is declared within the helper method.
But one more question how do I get the statement to work:

Sorry I am new to this but I thought if the signature of the helper method has a arraylist and a char in it's argument that I could just use the helper method name :
[ getDancers(List<aClass1> aList, char c) and say this.getDancers(aList, c); ] as both methods are within the same class?