Hi All. Wondering if someone can assist me with this code im trying to write. I have to make a small calculation with random variables but the problem i run into is that i have to pass the calculated variable back to the main method and display it that way. Im not very good with Java but im trying to learn. Here is what i have so far:

public class Calculator
{
	public static void main(String[] args)
	{
	int price = 20000;
	int commission = 10;
	int discount = 15;
	int endPrice;
	endPrice = calculation(price);
	System.out.println("The total price after a " + commission +
	"% commission and a " + discount + "% discount is " + endPrice); 
	}	
	public static int calculation(int finalPrice)
	{
	int productPrice = 20000;

int withSalesCommission = productPrice * (10/100);
	int withCustDiscount = productPrice * (15/100);
	productPrice = withSalesCommission - withCustDiscount;
	return productPrice;
	}
	}

When i run this it tells me that the endprice is equal to 0. I appreciate your help.

Sam

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

Member Avatar for coil

That is probably because (10/100) and (15/100) is rounded down to 0. You should probably return a double to avoid round-off error, or, at the very end, cast your double to an int.

commented: Good analysis and understanding of the limitations of integers vs. doubles in calculation(s) +1

how would i go about doing that? Im not very good with Java, i just started trying to learn it. Im better with Visual Basic.

Thanks,
Sam

Instead of hardcoding the integer literals: 12/100
define a double with the value 0.12 and use that in your computations.

or make the literals doubles by adding .0 at the end: 12.0

I tried to declare to double variables to the calculation method and it came up with a compiling error: Calculator.java:20: possible loss of precision
found : double
required: int
heres what i changed to:

int price = 20000;
	int commission = 10;
	int discount = 15;
	int endPrice;
	endPrice = calculation(price);
	}