Hello, I'm uneducated in programming and I'm starting off with Visual Basic since I can simply use the toolbox to add things. I have looked at variables and stuff.

I am using Visual Studio 2010 and am using the form part of Visual Basic in it. I used the calendar tool and so I have a calendar in the form and a rich text box underneath it.

Now here is what I'm wanting to do.

I want to assign the rich textbox to each date... so when I debug I would click on any date and say I have a doctors appointment and I type in Doctors appointment in the text box, I want it to link to that date and STAY.

So I should add a button that says save.. but how do I link all this together? I don't see any easy way in the toolbox unless I'm missing. Like I said this is my first time to be honest and I've done some Google research and haven't really found anything.

Hopefully you get what I'm saying. I'm sure this is already a program for people to buy or download.. but I'm wanting to get the hang of if and this seems like a pretty good way to start off...

How to link the textbox to each date and if i type something and click save it saves that text to that date.

Not as a text file neither it actually saves it into the program.

Thanks, if you don't understand what I mean simply reply back and I'll explain in as much detail as possible.

Thanks!

As you want to store the calendar entries permanent you should first decide how you wanna save the entries. if you wanna use a database, xml or just storing it in the my.settings.
I would suggest xml for you project as it is easy to learn (examle here)

here is a simple example on how to do this.
This sample is very straight and does not include any fancy stuff. thats something for you to tweak ...

Public Class Form1

Private myDateList As List(Of MyDates)
	Private xmlFile As String = IO.Path.Combine(My.Application.Info.DirectoryPath, "dates.xml")

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Load