// I have no knowledge of using gcc compiler. Can some1 please help my creating my first program in c on mac book.... saving on desktop.

//saving as testing.c on desktop ..
// Creating C program
#include<stdio.h>
int main(void)
{
int x=2;
printf("X=%d",x);
return 0;
}

Building target “PracticeC” of project “PracticeC” with configuration “Debug” — (1 error)
cd /Users/moneysingh/Desktop/PracticeC
setenv MACOSX_DEPLOYMENT_TARGET 10.5
/Developer/usr/bin/g++-4.0 -arch i386 -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.5.sdk -L/Users/moneysingh/Desktop/PracticeC/build/Debug -F/Users/moneysingh/Desktop/PracticeC/build/Debug -filelist /Users/moneysingh/Desktop/PracticeC/build/PracticeC.build/Debug/PracticeC.build/Objects-normal/i386/PracticeC.LinkFileList -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -o /Users/moneysingh/Desktop/PracticeC/build/Debug/PracticeC
ld: duplicate symbol _main in /Users/moneysingh/Desktop/PracticeC/build/PracticeC.build/Debug/PracticeC.build/Objects-normal/i386/testing.o and /Users/moneysingh/Desktop/PracticeC/build/PracticeC.build/Debug/PracticeC.build/Objects-normal/i386/main.o
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
ld: duplicate symbol _main in /Users/moneysingh/Desktop/PracticeC/build/PracticeC.build/Debug/PracticeC.build/Objects-normal/i386/testing.o and /Users/moneysingh/Desktop/PracticeC/build/PracticeC.build/Debug/PracticeC.build/Objects-normal/i386/main.o
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
Build failed (1 error)

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I haven't used Xcode in a while, but since you've got it installed, open TextEdit (unless you're comfortable with a command-line text editor, of course), write your program in there, and save it as attempt.c in your home directory (the one with Movies, Music, and so on). Next, fire up your Terminal (Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal.app) and type

gcc attempt.c -o attempt -Wall

Next, type in

./attempt

Now, to explain things a bit. Compiling the program is done, in the simplest form, using

gcc attempt.c