hi! well, i'm just a beginner in visual basic and i have this problem in coding the calendar control. I want to reserve the dates and store it on a database. so when there will be another reservation, i can easily know if the date is already taken. I don't know how to start the code. please help!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I don't really get what your problem is:

1. Is it the code for the calendar control(w/c is stated above) or
2. On how to check if a date selected in the calendar control has already a reservation.

Anyway, what control are you using? is it a month control?, datepicker control? or frankly speaking, the calendar control ->Microsoft Calendar Control ->MSCAL.ocx

If it's calendar control, then here is my idea...this code is a click event of a button, it's up to you on how you will run this code...

Private Sub Command1_Click()
    Dim rsCheckReservations As New ADODB.Recordset  'this will our recordset object
    Dim holdSelectedDate    As String               'this will hold the selected date from the calendar control

'get the values of the calendar control...
    holdSelectedDate = Me.Calendar1.Month & "/" & Me.Calendar1.Day & "/" & Me.Calendar1.Year
                        '.Month -> returns the month number
                        '.Day   -> returns the daynumber
                        '.Year  -> returns the year

With rsCheckReservations
        If .State = adStateOpen Then .Close
        'open the table from the database, this will check if the selected date from the calendar control is free, or reserved.
        .Open "SELECT * FROM tblReservations WHERE date='" & holdSelectedDate & "'", cn, adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic, adCmdText
                                                                                    'cn -> it's the connection string
        'check if there are results.
        If .BOF And .EOF = True Then
            'if there are no results, then process the reservation....
        Else