Hello guys,

i'm studying the Java programming language. every thins were going very well, but once i have encountered RECURSION i started to feel so bad.

there is a recursive method that is blowing my mind. I can't figure out how does it print that the sum of a set of numbers without using a variable that keeps track of the current value of the sum.

My problem is that i totally understood how recursion is working however, when i try to write a recursive method, i fail.

Here is the method. i wish you could help me understand it.

/**
	 * Return the number of leaves in the tree to which node points.
	 */
	static int countLeaves(TreeNode node) {

if(node == null){
			return 0;
		} else if(node.left == null && node.right == null){
			return 1;
		} else {
			return countLeaves(node.left) + countLeaves(node.right);
		}
	} // end countNodes()

Best regards,

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

If you trace the function values through a small test node, you will see how the sum is automatically updated as the nested calls return back up the call stack.

I have tried to trace it using the debugged, but i couldn't. it is very confusing

Imagine a simple branch structure:

|
  / \
 |   |
/ \   \

The number of leaves for the top part will be the total number of leaves on the left + the total number of leaves on the right.

On the left there is again a branch, so the number of leaves for this part will be the total number of leaves on its left + the total number of leaves on its right.

On this far left branch, its node.left and node.right are both null. Hence, it will return 1 (case 2 of 3) because it is a dead end (a leaf).

On the right there is nothing (it is null). Hence, it will return 0 (case 1 of 3) because it is nonexistant.

On the left we have now calculated the number of leaves for this part, because 0 + 1 = 1. There is 1 leaf here, so that number is returned upward.

Now we know the number of leaves on the left (1). Time to investigate the number on the right.