I have joined our local high school's FIRST robotics club, but their programmer graduated last year, so who got selected? The wimpy freshman: me! I am an intermediate programmer (PLEASE don't look at my previous posts, I now know two languages, and am better). So I downloaded an instruction booklet. However, the leader wanted me to learn the SDK in C++ (I am way more comfortable with Java) because it is so much faster.

So, the problem is, I have to learn this super-class by the time we get the robot, not during that time. However, I learn by experimenting, which is impossible without a simulator. Besides, I only really know Objective-C and Java. So my point is, it would be extremely helpful if there was a compiler emulator. Nothing to complex, just something to give me a visual of what the code does. This would be extremely helpful.

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You haven't gotten a response because the question is a bit vague. You'll have to say what type of robot it is, the exact type of programming you'll be doing, etc. It's pointless to just learn C and C++ because you'll be learning things that you probably don't need to know for this assignment. Nobody can tell you whether there's an emulator without knowing what the robot is, what type of chip it runs on, the exact compiler, etc.

Being a robotics engineer, I feel a bit obligated to answer... but also very happy to do so, however, your question is too vague, thus, my answer will be as well.

>>learn the SDK in C++
What SDK? What is the platform? Is it the LEGO Mindstorm? Or a micro-processor, like gumstix? Or a micro-PC?

If it is a micro-controller, then WinAVR, AVR Studio, and Arduino are the typical examples of free software on which you can program and test your programs. But these are simple I/O emulators or embedded system emulators (not a full-blown robot simulators).