I need some career advice. Any genuinely informed advice that anyone can give would be greatly appreciated.

I'm 55 years old. I was a DOS programmer 20 years ago for @ 4 years. I retired from an unrelated field about 5 years ago, but now I need to go back to work. If I can get my skills up to that of today's entry-level Windows programmers, is there any real chance that anyone will hire me in the U.S., especially considering today's job market? Be honest - I need to make a decision about what to do. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

If I were you I would go to a real career advisor. I know they exist in my contry, hopefully you can find one in yours:)

If I were you I would go to a real career advisor. I know they exist in my contry, hopefully you can find one in yours:)

That's precisely why I posted the question here. I went to SIX "real career advisors", and they did me the good service of educating me that "real career advisors" are charlatans that know nothing. Think about it - a field that has no accreditation, no formal education available, less qualification to judge someone's programming skills than "human resources" workers, and no salary (they act as consultants, and all 6 I spoke to seemed to be less than successful). Now that doesn't PROVE anything - but my interviews with them came close enough.

Don't get me wrong - thanks for taking the time to answer. But I'm hoping some people can offer their impressions about hiring practices in the companies in which they work.

Have you done any programming recently?

And I don't mean necessarily in anything up-to-date: I just mean ANY programming. If so, then you're still possibly pretty sharp with your analytical skills, so you could pick up another programming language fairly quickly.