Hi, i'm a student and i needed help in storing all my information from C to a text file. Could anyone help me out.
Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

This is the C forum. Do you believe that we don't deal with C problems? ;)

One look around the place should have enlightened you on that point. Post your code, and describe what the problem is - tell us what it is that has you stumped.

Hi, i'm actually using a switch statement at the same time my codes are all working so far there is no problem.
But i wanted all my data i entered to be stored in a text file.
I have used this code, and it does not show me any error but, "is it really getting saved in a text file and how can i view it?"
Are the below codes correct? if not please help me, Thanks...

below are the codes shown, which i used to store my data into a text file...

/*codes for storing data in a textfile*/

FILE *ofp; 

ofp = fopen("myprogram.txt", "w");//creating a text file.//fprintf(ofp, "%d \n %f", i, f);

fprintf(ofp,"CLIENT REGISTRATION DETAILS\n\n");

fprintf(ofp,"Client_RegNumber:%s\n\n",Client_RegNumber);

fprintf(ofp,"Client_FirstName:%s\n\n",Client_FirstName);

fprintf(ofp,"Client_LastName:%s\n\n",Client_LastName);

fprintf(ofp,"Location:%s\n\n",Location);

fprintf(ofp,"PhoneNumber:%s\n\n",PhoneNumber);

}

return(0);
}

@OP

>>"is it really getting saved in a text file and how can i view it?"

Open the file :)
Since you have not specified the path explicitly, it generally gets created in the same directory as the source file or sometimes the executable.

Just open it and check it out,

sir, what do you mean by specifying the path, could you give me an example
and i checked the folder it does not have my work saved in it...
thank you

sir, what do you mean by specifying the path, could you give me an example
and i checked the folder it does not have my work saved in it...
thank you

Specifying the path means telling the compiler where you want your File on Disk...

like: