Hi there, I am very new to C++ and I want to create an array of variable length.
I tried this:

int corners;
	cout << "Please enter the number of corners: ";
	cin >> corners;
	int x[corners];

but it came up with errors:
error C2057: expected constant expression
error C2466: cannot allocate an array of constant size 0
error C2133: 'x' : unknown size

After some research I found this as a solution:

int corners;
	cout << "Please enter the number of corners: ";
	cin >> corners;
	int * const x = (int*)_alloca(corners * sizeof(int));

Whilst this does work, I was hoping someone could explain exactly what it meant/was doing.

I am using Visual C++ Express 2008.

Thanks very much for any help! :)

Don't do it -- it's a local extension and not part of C++. Do this instead:

int corners;
cout << "Please enter the number of corners: ";	cin >> corners;
vector<int> x(corners);    // Note: parentheses, not square brackets

You have to say

#include <vector>

for this to work.

Thanks arkoenig!

I can see why this is a better solution. I have looked up the vector function and I can see why it would be good to do what I want. However, I can't fully get my brain around what the statment

vector<int> x(corners)

is doing.

Sorry for being a bit slow!

It's defining a variable named x of type vector<int> and using the value of corners to initialize it. When you use an integer to initialize a vector, that integer determines the number of elements the vector has.

Ah ok, thanks so much for your help!

By the way, many people who use vectors also use the push_back function. For example:

vector<int> x;
int n;
while (cin >> n)
    x.push_back(n);

Calling x.push_back(n) pushes a copy of n onto the back of x. That is, it increases the size of x by 1 and uses n to initialize the newly created element.

This technique makes it unnecessary to know in advance how many elements the vector will have.