Hi:

I am using Canon SDK for camera control. Everything works fine until I start using timers or delays. Let me explain:

If I use a regular button to call the take_picture method on the SDK everything works fine.

But when I use a Timer, DispatcherTimer or any other kind of delay that I could think of an error about delagates and garbage collector pops up:

A callback was made on a garbage collected delegate of type 'WPF!EDSDKLib.EDSDK+EdsObjectEventHandler::Invoke'. This may cause application crashes, corruption and data loss. When passing delegates to unmanaged code, they must be kept alive by the managed application until it is guaranteed that they will never be called.

When I call the method from another thread the error comes up.

The SDK uses event handlers to know if a file is ready (I am no expert in this particular topic)

Here are the classes that I am using.

The SDK class is (with only the relevant lines):

public class EDSDK

{

public delegate uint EdsObjectEventHandler(uint inEvent, IntPtr inRef, IntPtr inContext);

[DllImport("EDSDK.dll")]

public extern static uint EdsSetObjectEventHandler(IntPtr inCameraRef, uint inEvnet,

EdsObjectEventHandler inObjectEventHandler, IntPtr inContext);

}

Then I made my own class called CanonCamera that has various methods:

p

ublic class CanonCamera

{

public bool open_camera(){

err = EDSDK.EdsSetObjectEventHandler(cameraDev, EDSDK.ObjectEvent_All, objectEventHandler, new IntPtr(0));

}

public uint objectEventHandler(uint inEvent, IntPtr inRef, IntPtr inContext)

{

switch (inEvent)

{

case EDSDK.ObjectEvent_DirItemCreated:

downloadImage(inRef);

break;
	}

private uint downloadImage(IntPtr directoryItem)

{

//downloads image

}

}

And on my form I have:

public partial class FRM_Video_Recording : Window

{

static CanonCamera canonCamera = new CanonCamera();

public DispatcherTimer Timer_foto = new DispatcherTimer();

private void Window_Loaded(object sender, RoutedEventArgs e)

{