Hello there!

I am new to Java and DW, though I usually find great help already here!

Say I need a constructor that accepts variable number of parameters up to 2 parameters, but if I pass only one parameter to this constructor, both parameters will take this number, and if I passed two parameters, they're treated normally. I tried to do it with only 1 parameter, but my program crashes with:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException:

I think because it's supposed to take 2 params? if so, any idea how can I do that? (to pass only 1 param to a 2 param constructor)

Sample code:

public createTables (int rows, int columns) // Or is it better to do it like (int[][] Table) ?
{
	int[][] Table = new int [row][column];

if (Table[column].length < 0) // no second parameter is passed ( is that how to track the second dimension in multi-D arrays?)
		column = row;
			else
			{
			row = row;
			column = column;
			}
}

The above code is just a sample, the real assignment is far too long from this :-/

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

That sounds like the way to go, but sadly I cannot use something we didn't study yet :(

It's my very first programming course.

Who says (its called initiative)? Did you ask?

In any case, he is probably hinting at method overloading in that case

public void doit(int argOne) {
    doit(argOne, argOne);
}
public void doit(int argOne, int argTwo) {
    // do whatever
}

Who says (its called initiative)? Did you ask?

In any case, he is probably hinting at method overloading in that case

public void doit(int argOne) {
    doit(argOne, argOne);
}
public void doit(int argOne, int argTwo) {
    // do whatever
}

method overloading is something we've been doing lately, I could use that but the assignment specifically said:

A second constructor is required. This constructor accepts a variable number of parameters. The maximum
number of parameters that this constructor accepts is two (2).