Hi there

I'm studying Visual Basic (using Visual Studio 2008) as part of an all-round IT foundation degree...I must confess that programming is becoming my weak spot! Unlike the C++ I was taught last year, I'm not finding VB too easy...probably becasue I've never programmed this way before and I've missed a couple of lessons.

Anyway...

I'm writing a program that accesses an Access Database. The bit of it I'm having problems with at the moment concerns populating a list box with the contents of a table from the database.

What I want to know is how do I have the data in columns in the list box? The table that the data is coming from is 4 columns wide, and has 14 records in in total. At the moment, it fills the list box in one column....fields one underneath the other...

Here's my code:

Private Sub citydata_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

Dim dataCity As New DataTable()
        Dim connectionString As String = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;" & "Data Source=E:\globexdata\globex.mdb"
        Dim sqlString As String = "SELECT * FROM cities"
        Dim dataAdapt As New OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter(sqlString, connectionString)

dataAdapt.Fill(dataCity)
        dataAdapt.Dispose()

For r = 1 To dataCity.Rows.Count
            For c = 1 To dataCity.Columns.Count
                lstPopulation.Items.Add(dataCity(r - 1)(c - 1))
            Next c
        Next r

End Sub

I hope someone can help! I may have a lot more questions over the next week...beyond the basics I'm finding VB hell!!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Here's an afterthought - should I populate an array with what I'm pulling in from the table first...then I can manipulate the array if need be?

I think you want to show all records in listbox but the listbox support single column. You can switch to "ListView" if you want multiple columns.

ListBox1.MultiColumn = True
        ListBox1.HorizontalScrollbar = True
        ListBox1.ColumnWidth = 100