Member Avatar for Fjolsvidr

I'm looking to learn C++ from online sources. Which would you recommend considering I have no prior programming experience. Also, is it necessary or helpful to learn C beforehand?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I would invest in a good book like Koenig and Moo's Accelerated C++ (among others). Books like this take the approach of teaching C++ from the ground up, starting you out with C++ (and the standard libraries) rather than techniques drawn from C. The idea of learning C first is becoming passé, I think.

http://www.cplusplus.com/ is a great site for references and tutorials.

Others will be able to give you their suggestions, so watch for more replies.

Thanks for the reply, I'll be checking out cplusplus.com. Not related but, I have another question in mind. Among Java, C, C++ and Python which in your opinion is the most valuable to know?

That's one of those questions that definitely depends on the project you are working on, etc. To me, if you know one of Java, C, or C++ you shouldn't have any problem learning the others and switching between them, but again that's just my opinion. I don't know much about Python, but it too is widely used and those that use it seem to enjoy it.

commented: :) cool! and nice avatar too. +12

I can't give you much book suggestions or basic online tutorial (because my years of learning basic C++ are far behind me), but there is one site (in addition to www.cplusplus.com) that is key resource for understanding and knowing how to program well, that is: http://www.parashift.com/c++-faq-lite/