Hello everybody! I’m new to C++. Need some help. I am trying to prompt the user to enter the file name. File itself includes list of 5 emails.
After user enters the file name, program should check the list of emails and output all emails that have wrong email format (each email should have only one “@” character and one dot).
So I need to create 2 functions:
- bool oneAt(char email[] ); - to check if each email has ONLY one “@” character.
- bool oneDot(char* email); - to check if each email has ONLY one “.” (dot).
It should be really easy, but I just can’t implement it. I hope somebody can help me.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

This is what I got so far:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cstring>
#include <sstream>
#include <stdlib.h>
using namespace std;

const unsigned MaxRecLen = 80;
const unsigned MaxFileName = 200;

int main()
{
	ifstream inF;
	ofstream of;

char infile[ MaxFileName + 1 ],
	     outfile [ MaxFileName + 1 ];
	char email [ MaxRecLen ];
	string line;

cout << "Enter File Name: ";
		cin >> infile;
		cout << "Output File: ";
		cin >> outfile;

inF.open( infile );	
	of.open( outfile );

inF.getline (email, MaxRecLen );

while (strlen(email)){
		if(strlen(email) < 0){
		}
		of << email << endl;
		inF.getline(email, MaxRecLen);
	}
	inF.close();   
	of.close();
	return 0;
}

I'm not exactly sure how to check if the list of emails has all emails with only one "@" character... Any ideas?

Look at each character. Increment a value when you see @. When done, if the value is 1 you're goo, otherwise bad.

Rather than use strlen to drive your loop, use the getline function directly:

while(inf.getline(email,maxRecLen))
{
  //etc.
}

This way you won't need that initial read to get a value for strlen. When I tried it your way, I was getting an extra string. That if statement isn't doing anything either, so you can get rid of that.