Hey guys, I am a complete beginner to programming. My only background is basic programming in C. I would like to learn more but I don't know where to start, I thought about learning C++ but then i read somewhere that learning obj-C or Java is a better idea. At this point I am completely confused and would like your advice.

In the future I would like to create simple programs(hopefully with a GUI, I am tired of writing programs for DOS). I would also like to write for iPhone/iPod/iPad. However these are two different goals and I don't really want to learn a language just because its better for apple platforms.

In other words, what would be a good beginners language for windows OS and what would be a good language for apple's mobile platforms.

Thanks,
hope I wasn't all over the place...

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I thought about learning C++ but then i read somewhere that learning obj-C or Java is a better idea.

C++ is the best language to start (and keep going). Once you know it (or any OOP language) you can easily code in Java, Python etc.
As for windows or any other platform consideration, then Java is a good option. But other language won't let you down anyway.
If you intend to do game programming, again go for c++.

You are asking which language you should program in.. on a C++ forum! I think you know where this is going to lead.

C++ plays the central role in the world of computer programming. What that means is that all other languages define themselves in comparison to C++. It means most languages try to have a C++-like syntax to have the best chance of appealing to the massive body of C++ programmers, which means most other languages are easiest to learn when coming from a C++ background. It means also that most (if not all) platforms, operating systems, software tools, etc. are either natively in C++ or provide direct (or very good) compatibility/interface with it. Finally, it means that C++ is key in having broad competences in programming.