Hi,

I have a C++ program (built in Visual Studio 2010) and want to add a user interface to package it up. I've been reading around about windows forms and the win32 API, and found loads of tutorials showing how to create interfaces but I can't find any advice on linking everything together.

Basically, what I want to know is what is the best way (it may not be windows forms or win32) for me to create a GUI if I already have a working program in VS? and can anyone recommend a tutorial/reference that explains how to use a GUI to call and run a C++ program.

Please excuse my ignorance. I'll happily admit I'm a complete novice.

Thanks in advance,

Victoria

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

:o What a question.. You can use Windows Forms (.Net).. Try it. start a new project, give it a name.. choose WindowsForm Application.. it will set up a default looking form where you can drag and drop controls..

Copy your code to whatever you want it to do.. basically you double click the control and put the code that that control is supposed to do. Remember though your program is probably a console program so your going to need to revise some of the code..

Then there is Windows 32 API programming.. which I see as a bit harder when it comes to making GUI's due to me having a hard time figuring out where to place the buttons on the main form and you'd need to know the co-ordinates of where you want the button position to be, etc.. But if you do learn this, it will be very easy for you and does not require the .Net framework at all.. which is a Plus for most users (people wont have to download .Net framework to run your program)

using .NET means making your native C++ project a Mixed Mode assembly that contains both native machine instructions and MSIL. If you have compilation trouble using a mixed mode then you may want to look into using the #pragma managed and #pragma unmanaged.