Hello...

I am still a newbie! I have an assignment to write a C++ program to cover a series of ASCII character digits into numbers.
Like if the input (that I have ti input from a saved file) was $1,9,56#%34,9 it would output
on two seperate lines ignoring all characters except the digits using a character processing algorithm (pasted below)and nested loops and decisions. The # symbol is what would separate the numbers...The final numbers have to be whole numbers, does that make sense? Then my coversions need to be output to a file.
I have the processing algorithm, but its the conversion part that is stumping me. I think I am overthinking this and I can't find a similar example on the web in C++.
I know for example '5' in ASCII is 53 and if I subtract '0' from that which is 48, I end up with 5, but how to I write a loop for that? And then how do I sum up the indivdual numbers to make one whole number? I'm lost...Any advice would help...thanks!

/*
 * Description: Convert ASCII symbols into numbers using 
 * nested loops and decisions and the character processing
 * algorithm.
 */

//Character Processing Algorithm

#include <fstream.h>
 #include <iostream.h>

char const nwln = '\n';

int main ()
   {
     char ch;
     ifstream data;
     ofstream out;
     data.open ("a:\\file1.txt");
     if (!data)
        {
        cout << "Failure to Open file1.txt" << endl;
        return 1;
        }
     out.open ("a:\\out.txt");
     if (!out)
        {
        cout << "Failure to Open out.txt" << endl;
        return 1;
        }

data.get (ch); // priming read for end-of-file loop
     while (data)
           {
           while ((ch != nwnl) && data)
                 {
                 out.put (ch); // all processing here
                 data.get (ch); // update for inner loop
                 } // inner loop

if (data)
              {
              out.put (ch); // write last newline
              data.get (ch); // update for outer loop
              } //if