Hello DaniWeb!

I am interested in learning computer programming, but have no previous experience. I've been told that Python is a good place to start, so I decided to give it a whirl. If anyone can help point me toward resources geared for the absolute beginner (learning both programming concepts and coding) it would be greatly appreciated! If there is already a post on this topic could someone link me to it?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Go to the main Python website (python.org I believe) download the appropriate installer, and go through the tutorials with the included manual.

Alright! Will do! Do you know of any resources for basic programming logic? Or does the python website cover that sufficiently? Or does it assume that you know another language or even basic concepts? Like I said, I'm completely new to this and want to be sure I understand the basics before jumping into it and getting discouraged.

Ok... I've checked out the site and found in the section for beginning for non-programmers there seems to be a few articles that may help me out.

Take a look at the "Starting Python" sticky at the top of this forum. There are many resources, including the Google (free) online course.

commented: worth it +13

Alright! Will do! Do you know of any resources for basic programming logic? Or does the python website cover that sufficiently? Or does it assume that you know another language or even basic concepts? Like I said, I'm completely new to this and want to be sure I understand the basics before jumping into it and getting discouraged.

Don't worry, the tutorial in the manual is just perfect for learning the basics of programming.