hi. new here. Im a freshman at UCSB and im taking my first c++ class. I got this assignment in class and i was hoping for some tips.

The value of pi to 15 decimal places is PI = 3.141592653589793 . . . Your job is to write a
program that can be used to find decent approximations to PI. More specifically, your program must find
integers N and D such that the fraction N/D is the best possible approximation to PI and such that D <

I have already set up nested while loops to chug through the fractions and limited the numerator to n <= 3145926. I also set a if condition right in between the while to reduce the numer of times it goest through the calculations by narrowing the numbers between 3 and 4( like pi). such that if( 3*d < n && 4*d > n){

Now the thing works but it takes about 6 hrs to run and for this project the instructor wants us to make one that runs in 2 min or less. I was wondering if anyone has any tips that may help.
thank you
bw

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

If you post code (using code tags) someone may be willing to take a stab at helping you. Without posting code it's like asking "how can I reduce the time it takes me to file out my tax return?".

Well, try all numbers from D to 1,000,000. I was able to write a program that calculates this in under 20 seconds.

BestPi: 3.141592653588651 3126535/995207

I used one loop that went from D equals 1 to 1,000,000, the interior loop is where it gets tricky. Like you said, the ratio of N/D has to be between 3 and 4...

3 < N/D < 4
3*D < N < 4*D

That's all you get without posting your code.

-Fredric

Now the thing works but it takes about 6 hrs to run

LMAO :lol: :lol: :lol: Sorry for laughing so much! But the last time I heard something like that was way back in 1987 on an old Unix computer -- the program (no, I didn't write it) took 48 hours to run. I rewrite it in C and got it to run in under 10 minutes.

Post your program and I'm certain someone will help you with it.