Hey guys,
I'm making a small game on c++ using code::blocks.I use winbgi graphics for doing it. Its basically a ball game like dx-ball. I am an amateur programmer and I did upto making a moving ball which will rebounce whenever the boundaries of the screen are encountered.My method is to clear viewport each time the ball is printed so that the motion of the ball will be achieved . But I have been told that it is an inefficient method and there is another way by XORing the pixels to clear only parts of the screen instead of clearviewport()

Please enlighten me on it
here is my code

#include<winbgim.h>
#include<stdio.h>
#include<stdlib.h>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int x,y,i,j;
    i=1;
    j=1;
    x=11;
    y=11;

initwindow(1366,768);
     setbkcolor(BLACK);
     setcolor(RED);
               setfillstyle(SOLID_FILL,RED);
                rectangle(500,730,700,740);
   while(!kbhit())
    {

if(x==getmaxx()-10)
            {

i=-1;

}
            if(x==10)
            {

i=1;

}
            if(y==10)
            {

j=1;
            }
            if(y==getmaxy()-30)
            {

j=-1;
            }
              x=x+i;
              y=y+j;

fillellipse (x,y,10,10);
          delay(5);
          clearviewport();

}

getch();
   closegraph();
   return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

It is not very complicated. You have to remember the previous position and size of the ball. Before you update the screen you have to clear only that part of your viewport. In your case I would guess that you can paint a black rectangle at (x-10, y-10) with size 20x20 instead of clearviewport().

It gets a little bit more complicated if you draw stuff on top of each other. If your ball is drawn on top of some other object like an image you have to replace the black clear-rectangle with a portion of the image that occupies that area.