Total newbie, I need more help... If you could just give me a basic structure for what I'm trying to do and an explanation, that would help a whole lot.

Here's my assignment:

1) Write a function divides. The function accepts two parameters: a number and a possible divisor. If the number is evenly divisible by the possible divisor, then the function returns 1 (or TRUE); otherwise the function returns 0 (or FALSE).

2) Write a main function that will print all the numbers between 10 and 50. Next to each number, the program will print the divisors of that number (hint: check all possibly divisors between 1 and the number).

After the entire table is printed, print the number of numbers with only 2 divisors (these are prime numbers).

I'm having trouble getting it all organized in my head in the first place... Any assistance/tips/hints would be very nice, thank you

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Add the functionality in the order that it's listed in the instructions.

Make the function. Test the function in main a number or two that you know.

Test the function on one number. Figure out how many factors it has.

Repeat for all of the other numbers.

Diagram out your plan of attack on paper first...then post what code you have so far, and someone can help you from there.

question 2
////////////

void printing()
{
    cout<<setw(3)<<"numbers between 10 and 50  "<<setw(17)<<"their divisors"<<setw(18)<<"Prime Numbers"<<"\n\n";
    int i;

for( i=11;i<50;i++)
    {
        cout<<i<<"\n";//prints all numbers between 1 and 50

for(int j=1;j<i;j++)/*since all are divisible by 1 (between 1 and number)*/
        {
            if(i%j==0)
                cout<<"                                    "<<j<<"\n";//prints divisors of every number
        }

}

}
    cout<<"\n\n\n";

/*try to do the prime :) I think the ideas is clearer now and number 1 is  easier  you should be able to do it*/

}

int main()
{
printing();//function call
}