Hello, first I want to say I'm a total noob to C++ and Visual Studio and MFC. Before this I studied Java in school. Anyway I'm required to learn MFC for work and I've been going through a reference book my supervisor has and I've run into an error that google can't seem to solve and I thought I'd try here before tracking down my supervisor for help.

I'm using Visual Studio 2008 and referencing a book called "MFC Programming with Visual C++ 6"

Here's what I'm going by: "Listing 2.1 demonstrates how the constructor is used in the MFCSample application to intialize the m_currentColor member variables." The idea behind the program is to fill a section with a colour chosen with the Colour Picker.

This is their code:

CMFCSampleDlg::CMFCSampleDlg(CWnd* pParent /*=NULL*/)
	: CDialog(CMFCSampleDlg::IDD, pParent)
	, m_currentColor(RGB(0,0,255))

{
	//{{AFX_DATA_INIT(CMFCSampleDlg)
        m_fileName = _T("");
        //}}AFX_DATA_INIT

//[omitted code]
}

it continues to state that m_fileName was generated by Visual Studio.

Here's the code I have

CMFCSampleeDlg::CMFCSampleeDlg(CWnd* pParent /*=NULL*/)
	: CDialog(CMFCSampleeDlg::IDD, pParent)
	, m_strFile(_T(""))
	//////////////////////
	//MY CODE STARTS HERE
	/////////////////////
	, m_currentColor(RGB(0,0,255))
	/////////////////////
	//MY CODE ENDS HERE
	/////////////////////
{
	m_hIcon = AfxGetApp()->LoadIcon(IDR_MAINFRAME);
}

Ignore the extra 'e' in Sample, I already had a file called MFCSample.

"Listing 2.2 shows the calls to EnableToolTips and DrawBitMapWithColor in the initialization for the MFCSample application

BOOL CMFCSampleDlg::OnInitDialog()
{
    CDialog::OnInitDialog();
    //[omitted code]

//TODO: Add extra initialization here
   EnableToolTips();
   DrawBitmapWithColor();

return TRUE; //return TRUE unless you set the focus to a control
}

And this is my code, I left out the tooltips.

BOOL CMFCSampleeDlg::OnInitDialog()
{
	CDialog::OnInitDialog();

// Add "About..." menu item to system menu.