Hello, I just started learning c++ and I'm dabbling with file input/output.

But now I have encountered an issue with this code:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	ifstream inFile("values.txt", ios_base::binary);

string Value1;
	int Value2;
	int Value3;
	int Value4;

if(inFile)
	{

inFile.read((char*)&Value1, sizeof(string));
		inFile.read((char*)&Value2, sizeof(int));
		inFile.read((char*)&Value3, sizeof(int));
		inFile.read((char*)&Value4, sizeof(int));

inFile.close();
	}

cout << "Value1= " << Value1 << endl;
	cout << "Value2= " << Value2 << endl;
	cout << "Value3= " << Value3 << endl;
	cout << "Value4= " << Value4 << endl << endl;
	cout << "Loading sucessfull!" << endl;

system("PAUSE");
	return 0

Everything works until the "return 0", then I get this error:
"Unhandled except at 0x103ead4a (msvcp100d.dll): Access violation reading location 0x003046b4"

I tried looking around on google, but I couldn't find the reason why I get this error or how to fix it.

Any help would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

This line is the problem (line 18):

You have to understand that string is not like primitive types (like int or float or char), it is a class. This means that an object of class string is not as "simple" as a primitive type. So, simply casting it to a char pointer and writing to it is not going to work. Internally, the string class probably stores pointer to a chain of characters, and when you do this cast and write operation, you are overwriting that internal pointer with some values from the file (you are not filling in the characters). This makes the pointer invalid, and when it is time to delete the string object, the code calls delete on an invalid pointer and you get a crash (access violation).