Hi,

This is my first project involving processes I am completely lost. I need to create 10 processes that run at the same time. I know that a process is a program in execution so I must write a program that executes 10 times. I used Win32 API to create a single process. How do I modify the CreateProcess function to create multiple processes and have them run at the same time? My code is in C++. I've been to several websites including Microsoft's website but they discuss the CreateProcess function only. I've been reading some of the posts on this site and it has been very helpful. I think I'm beginning to get a better understanding of what I am supposed to be doing. If I can get some steps to follow or code, or where to find additional information, I will be most grateful. Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

How do I modify the CreateProcess function to create multiple processes and have them run at the same time?

Contact microsoft and ask them for the source code to CreateProcess so you can modify it. Of maybe you can use CreateProcess 10 times?

Contact microsoft and ask them for the source code to CreateProcess so you can modify it. Of maybe you can use CreateProcess 10 times?

That was not the response I was expecting, but thanks all the same. I already have the code to create the process.

That was not the response I was expecting, but thanks all the same. I already have the code to create the process.

So it was just a test to see if someone gave you the answer you already knew? That's not even fair... :icon_wink:

Why do you use platform dependent functions like CreateProcess when the C++ standard library provides fork()?

Why do you use platform dependent functions like CreateProcess when the C++ standard library provides fork()?

I didn't know that. I am not familiar with UNIX which I think uses fork(). I wanted to use something I could quickly learn so I can complete my project.