hi everybody, i'm a student and i'm sick of going around this. lol
i have to make a game of tic tac toe, and i did everything, and everything is working fine exept this. this is a method to see if there is a victory in a line, it does all that, see's the possibilitys, and only writes when there's actually a victory, but the problem is, it's supose to return a boolean vic that if true the game stops(allready made in another method) if false does nothing(it's in another method). but in this case it's allways returning false, how do i make it return true?

here's the code!

public static boolean testVictoriaLinha(char []posicaoNoTabuleiro){
		boolean vic=false;
		int sizeBoard = (int) Math.sqrt(posicaoNoTabuleiro.length);
		for(int i=0; i<posicaoNoTabuleiro.length; i=i+sizeBoard){
			if(posicaoNoTabuleiro[i]=='X'||posicaoNoTabuleiro[i]=='O'){ //it only enters the if(vic) if in those positions
			vic=true;													//theres a X or O;
			}
			for(int j=0; j<sizeBoard-1; j++){
				if(posicaoNoTabuleiro[i+j]!=posicaoNoTabuleiro[i+j+1]){// se if the positions are diferent
					vic=false;	
					break;
				}
			}
			if(vic){
				Tabuleiro tabuleiro = new Tabuleiro();
				tabuleiro.board(posicaoNoTabuleiro);
				System.out.println();
				System.out.println("victoria1 "+posicaoNoTabuleiro[i] );
			}

}
		return vic;//it is supose to return vic insted is returning false allways false
	}

thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

If it is always returning false then it is likely the criteria for passing true is not being reached. Put some System.prints in there to check.

the criteria is right. it only says true when it's suposed to say it, the problem is in the return statement it doesnt receive the afectation of vic inside the for statement!

the problem is in the return statement it doesnt receive the afectation of vic inside the for statement!

What is the value of vic that it is not receiving?