Hi!I'm new in java so I really need your help.
The problem is how do I return a value if I made another choices again and again..

here's the expected output:

Enter size of class:
Choose Action:
[1]Enter a Student
[2]Enter list of student
[3]Exit
Enter choice[1-3]

I created some of the code but not yet finished:(

import java.util.Scanner;
public class studentlist {
	public static void main(String []args){
		Scanner sc=new Scanner(System.in);
		String student[]=new String[50];

int size,choice,x,i;

System.out.println("Enter size of class");
		size=sc.nextInt();

System.out.println("Choose Action:");
		System.out.println("[1]Enter a Student");
		System.out.println("[2]Enter list of Student");
		System.out.println("[3]Exit");

System.out.println("Enter Choice[1-3]" + "");
		choice=sc.nextInt();

if(choice==1)
		{
			System.out.println("Enter a Student:");
			for(x=0;x<size;x++)
			{
				student[x]=sc.next();

}

}

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

how do I return a value if I made another choices again and again..

How do the additional choices effect what value is returned? Do you return one value for each choice or one value after all the choices have been made?

Normally you talk about returning a value when talking about a method. I don't see any methods in your code.

My prof is a mess.He makes projects for us without even teaching anything except for HISTORY!!I'm into method by myself so if you're gonna asked me about where I studied then I'll be glad to answer you on "YOUTUBE UNIVERSITY." Thanks for a tip. had a little idea

Should return one value after all the choices been made.

Member Avatar for ztini
import java.util.HashSet;
import java.util.Scanner;

public class StudentList {

private static HashSet<String> students = new HashSet<String>();
	private static Scanner in = new Scanner(System.in);

public static void addStudent() {
		System.out.print("Enter Student: ");
		students.add(in.next());
	}

public static void addStudentList() {