So i haven't figured out what the point of constructors are i am just learning C++ and am seriously having trouble with it, i do not get why...well i kind of get default constructors because it initializes the variables but what about a constructor with arguments and the member function

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

oh so when there are multiple constructors you are overloading the constructors

oh so when there are multiple constructors you are overloading the constructors

Constructor is a "special" method. It can be overloaded like any other method. Note that Constructor should not return anything!

Also if you create a constructor for your class don't forget to also provide a default constructor. A default constructor is only provided if there are no constructors defined.

ok so i'll always need a default constructor even when i add other constructors

how can i have a constructor that has member functions in it

actually i just realized that's not possible i feel like the blonde redhead i am :P i
was just reading the assignment paper wrong so ignore the member function part :s

>>ok so i'll always need a default constructor even when i add other constructors

You can do both at the same time using default parameters, this is very common. For example, consider this simple class that represents a 2D vector:

class Vector2D {
  public:
    double x,y; //two data members to hold the x and y coordinates. 
    //you can have a constructor that takes the two coordinates to initialize the object with,
    // by providing default parameters ("= 0.0"), the constructor can also be called with no parameters
    // in which case they will have values (0.0,0.0)
    Vector2D(double aX = 0.0, double aY = 0.0) : x(aX), y(aY) { };
};

The above is very useful to provide both a parametrized constructor and a default constructor at the same time, also making it explicit what the default values are.

To create the objects, you would do this:

int main() {