What is the difference between standard, int main(int nargs,....); and

int WINAPI WinMain(
  HINSTANCE hInstance, 
  HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, 
  LPWSTR lpCmdLine, 
  int nShowCmd 
);

I am making a cross-platform program, for windows and linux, and until this point, I used main, without WinMain, for windows and linux. My app calls windows and Linux-specific functions but I still use normal main(). Do I need WinMain() if I want to make windows GUI instead of command prompt? Sorry, I am not an expert in Windows programming.

Contributors
Replies
Views
6 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by jmichae3

Maybe someone will correct me, but I believe its just convention. But WinMain does have extra parameter options than int main() which might become useful. But a thing to note is that returning in WinMain really doesn't do much since its returned value is passed to ExitThread instead of ExitProcess.

It is the entry point for Win32 applications (not console). If you're doing cross platform, you will need to check the definitions to see which OS you're compiling for and use some #ifdef pre-processor statements to include the correct entry point.

I believe that the difference is that Windows actually makes a difference between programs that run as a console application (MSDOS) and programs that run in the Windows system (Win32). If you try to run a program that uses WinMain() from a console window, you will probably get the message "This program cannot run in console." (at least, on older versions of windows that still had a native MSDOS environment available, newer versions only emulate the MSDOS environment via the "command prompt"). In Linux, and other *nix environments, all programs run in the terminal (whether you see it or not), and the GUI environment is nothing more than an external library invoked by the program.