Hello altogether,

I am supposed to work through a project written in C++ and QT for Windows platforms. Now I am not an expert in window-related stuff. I installed MinGW 3.4.5 and QTSDK on Win XP SP3.

I am using the tool "qmake" to create a makefile with all dependecies and that works just nice.
Then I use "make" to do the compiling and I get massive errors like these:

C:/Programme/MinGW/Bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/3.4.5/../../../../include/c++/3.4.5/bi
ts/istream.tcc:973: error: `__num' was not declared in this scope

For me that looks like the installation of MinGW is somehow corrupted.

Does anybody know how to fix that? Are environment-variables missing? Or do I need to install any further libraries?

Many thanks in advance!
Simon

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

It looks like you have somewhere around Qt 4.4. There is now Qt 4.7 which comes with mingw 4.5, which is much more up to date. It could be a corrupt installation of mingw, so reinstalling your version might help, but try the latest version.

Hello jonsca,

I just double-checked my installation. QT is version 4.7.3 (up to date). But I do now remeber having had problems during the installation. I will have a look into it this week.

Are there backward compatibility issues with QT and MinGW?

Thank you anyway! Simon

There's a lot of stuff included in the default installation that's for embedded systems. I remember Qt getting confused between the embedded compilers and the actual gcc installation, so I removed the embedded ones (I think this was mainly an issue in QtCreator). I also seem to remember a permissions issue being a problem (and having to turn off my security program for the duration of the install). If either of those two ring a bell, you may want to reinstall.