I am trying to rebuild my code for my final project due in 2 hours... I am getting a stray \147 and 148 error, along with various other errors. What am I doing wrong???? I am not very good at this C++ stuff, so any help would be appreciated :) Please see program below:

int main ();

float amount = 0;
cout << 'enter the amount:' << endl;
cin >> amount;

float JT [amount];
{    
for (n=0 ; n<10 ; n++) // loop which inputs array data and calculate its sum

cout << “Enter number” << endl;// request for user input
cin >> JT[n];
}
float avg = 0;
float temp = 0;
{
for (int n = 0; n<amount; n++) //adds up the values in the array and store that value 
temp += JT[n];
}

avg = average (temp, amount);
cout << “The average age for the IT department is: “ << avg << endl;

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Please enter code in like this so it's easier for us to read.

This is wrong:

int main ();   // You need brackets for the block of code containing the main function. -not a semi-colon  ;

//like this

int main(){

return 0;
}

Saith,

Sorry about that- as I've said before, I'm not very good at this. I am also a newbie poster. So, please bear with me :)

int main ();{
 float amount = 0;
 cin >> amount;
float JT [amount];
{
 for (n=0 ; n<10 ; n++) // loop which inputs array data and calculate its sum
 cout << “Enter number” << endl;// request for user input
 cin >> JT[n];
}
 float avg = 0;
 float temp = 0;
{
 for (int n = 0; n<amount; n++) //adds up the values in the array and store that 15. value
 temp += JT[n];
}
 avg = average (temp, amount);
 cout << “The average age for the IT department is: “ << avg << endl;
return 0;
}

You still need to (at least) remove that first semi-colon.

Let me start by saying that this project seems awfully simple for a final C++ project. There are no data structures, objects, or pointers. I also don't see any includes or namespaces.

Remember, main() is a function. Do you place a semi-colon after the head of a function? No.
This: